Teaser Tuesdays (Jan.12)

teasertuesdays31 Teaser Tuesdays is a weekly bookish meme, hosted by MizB of Should Be Reading. Anyone can play along! Just do the following:

  • Grab your current read
  • Open to a random page
  • Share two (2) “teaser” sentences from somewhere on that page
  • BE CAREFUL NOT TO INCLUDE SPOILERS! (make sure that what you share doesn’t give too much away! You don’t want to ruin the book for others!)
  • Share the title & author, too, so that other TT participants can add the book to their TBR Lists if they like your teasers!

My Teasers:

“To have a healthy, satisfying relationship with food, we need to rebel and allow ourselves to cheat sometimes. And our human nature confirms this time and again by making us obsessively crave things that we think we can’t have.”

~ p.11, “The Rebel Diet: Break the Rules, Lose the Weight” by Dr. Melissa Hershberg, M.D.

 ((I’m actually between books, right now, so this is from the book I’ve picked up to skim through)).

 

PLEASE LEAVE A COMMENT with either the link to your own Teaser Tuesdays post, or share your 2 ‘teasers’ in a comment here (if you don’t have a blog). Thanks!

~ :: ~ :: ~ :: ~

((remember, the link for the comments is at the TOP of this post!))
178 thoughts on “Teaser Tuesdays (Jan.12)

  1. Good one! I’ve always heard its better to have a little bit of something you crave than to try to fulfill your craving by eating something else; you’ll end up eating more trying to conquer your craving than you would have if you just gave into it.

    My teaser is here.

  2. A truer word was never spoken! Great teaser. Seeing that Fl had a few snow flakes this past weekend my teaser is from the Chocolate Snowman Murders and can be found here

  3. The whole “diet” and “cheating” mentality drives me crazy — and yes, I struggle with my weight. Do Weight Watchers! It’s science: calories in, calories out, and it’s geared toward the way we actually live our lives. And — as I said, yes I struggle with my weight.

    My teaser is from a very powerful memoir on living with bipolar disorder: “bipolar bare” — no capital letters — by Carlton Davis. The Carlotta below is Carlton’s muse, so to speak, and there are “conversations” between the two of them, which lets you comprehend the illness from two perspectives. Here’s the teaser:

    “Darling Carlton, you precious boy,” Carlotta coos,“I always think of you as lighting the way to a new understanding of life.”

    • Alas. The first time I did Weight Watchers, I lost 20 pounds. The second time, I lost nothing in several weeks. The third time, I gained ten pounds in two weeks.

      My body never gets “fooled” by the same diet twice. So now I just eat in a healthy way, exercise a lot, and trust my body to achieve the weight that’s natural to it.

      Weight Watchers really works well for a lot of people, though. Everyone needs to eat in a way that will let them be healthy, and that’s one of the ways that works for many.

  4. I love your teaser! It’s something I’ve thought for a very long time. It’s so important to work around real human nature rather than apply an ideal to it that just can’t work. Great choice!

    Here’s my own teaser, from a book about the Pharaoh Akhenaten.

  5. I’m sort of anti-diet. They don’t work. The only thing that works is a lifestyle change. I recommend sparkpeople.com It works! And its free.

    Anyway, here’s my teaser. And funny enough, its food related, even though its fiction.

    • It looks like my first post did disappear. Hmm. Anyway, I was just recommending Spark People for anyone looking for a free and effective way – not to diet – but to change your lifestyle to a healthier one.

  6. *is still staring at chocolate bar*

    Here is my teaser. Will be a bit before I review it because of my other reviews that are coming up but I am planning to. Yeay! Time to go read through other teasers! Thanks for having everyone put them here!

    Sincerely,
    Emma

Comments are closed.