Teaser Tuesdays (May 11)

teasertuesdays31 Teaser Tuesdays is a weekly bookish meme, hosted by MizB of Should Be Reading. Anyone can play along! Just do the following:

  • Grab your current read
  • Open to a random page
  • Share two (2) “teaser” sentences from somewhere on that page
  • BE CAREFUL NOT TO INCLUDE SPOILERS! (make sure that what you share doesn’t give too much away! You don’t want to ruin the book for others!)
  • Share the title & author, too, so that other TT participants can add the book to their TBR Lists if they like your teasers!

My Teasers:

“Discipline has always been a cruel word. I always think of it as beating my lazy part into submission, and that never works.”

~ p.25, “Writing Down the Bones” by Natalie Goldberg

 

PLEASE LEAVE A COMMENT with either the link to your own Teaser Tuesdays post, or share your 2 ‘teasers’ in a comment here (if you don’t have a blog). Thanks!

~ :: ~ :: ~ :: ~

((remember, the link for the comments is at the TOP of this post!))
160 thoughts on “Teaser Tuesdays (May 11)

  1. Discipline is one of those words that I know about, but don’t really practice. It’s right up there with will power!

    My teaser is here this week.

  2. This fits so well with my own current read. Here’s a teaser from Lone Survivor by Marcus Luttrell:

    “That’s the way it’s done in first phase: the exit ritual. There were now a dozen helmets signifying resignation, and we hadn’t even had lunch on day one.”

  3. MizB, I officially LOVE Teaser Tuesday. I just discovered you today. Now so many new books to read!

    My teaser:

    “Taste your feelings.” She watched him, felt him try to be still, like his emotions were being sorted into boxes she couldn’t open.

    -Melissa Marr, INK EXCHANGE

  4. Interesting teaser… Makes you think a bit about how you think of the word “Discipline” yourself.

    I’ve been out of town and am playing some catch up, but I was so looking forward to posting my teaser this week!

    You can find it here.

  5. I like your teaser. Some days I definitely need to beat my lazy nature into submission. Like today, when it took me until 11 PM to post my Teaser Tuesday. Eek!

    Here is mine.

  6. Here’s mine:

    “The corporations are the powers that determine identity. The corporations tell us who we are and what we can become. And the corporations offer the only route to personal fulfillment and salvation. If we are not happy there is something wrong with us.”

    Empire of Illusion by Chris Hedges.

    Check out my Shortest Book Review Ever here-

    http://ticatattle.blogspot.com

Comments are closed.