Skip to content

BTT: Evolving Reading

August 12, 2010

This week’s Booking Through Thursday question asks:

Have your reading choices changed over the years? Or pretty much stayed the same? (And yes, from childhood to adulthood we usually read different things, but some people stick to basically the same kind of book their entire lives, so…)

My reading choices have definitely changed over the years, and I know this because I’ve kept a book journal since 2002.

When I started out reading, I preferred “fluff” — anything that I could read that would be under 250 pages, and would not require a lot of brain power to get through.

Slowly, though, my reading has changed. Now I’ll read books that are anywhere between 50-1050 pages, and I don’t care if they require me to use my brain a little… in fact, I actually prefer books that make me think, more, now. The “fluff” books actually kind of turn me off, for the most part, these days.

My taste in authors has changed, too. I’ve tried to read authors, now, that I loved back in 2002, but have found that they just don’t pull me in like they did then. I can’t get into the same sorts of books.

Of course, there are favorites that I still love. But, books that I just liked before I can’t seem to get into now.

I also used to read a lot more fiction than I do now. Nowadays, I’ll pick a good nonfiction book before a fiction one. I soak up knowledge from the nonfiction titles I’ve been reading, and throw in a fiction title, here and there, to give my brain a break. ;)

ETA: A couple of other ways my reading has changed (which I thought of after publishing this post)… I used to avoid any books that might challenge my beliefs in any way. I was scared that they’d deceive my naïve self. Now I read books that may challenge my beliefs, but I pray for discernment while reading. Faith isn’t truly faith unless it’s challenged, is what I now say. ;) For example, a few years ago, when I was “researching” the Emerging Church movement (just out of personal curiosity), I decided to read several books written by people supposedly involved in that movement, in order to be able to give my opinion on the whole thing. I mean, you can’t say you hate a book unless you’ve read it, right? And, the way to know where an author stands is to read their work. So, I did. And, I was able to come to some interesting conclusions, thanks to having read those books.

And, also, I used to avoid books with any sort of coarse language at all… now I will read books with some language, but there are still some words/phrases that cause me to put a book aside immediately. I don’t like books that take God’s name in vain, and I don’t like the “F” word in any way, shape, or form. The “House of Night” series has a lot of language, but I am still sticking with the series ’cause I’m enjoying the story, and the main character, Zoey, prefers not to swear, for the most part.

((See my previous years’ reading logs — and how things have progressed/changed — HERE))

TO SEE MORE answers to this week’s question, please visit the host blog:
http://btt2.wordpress.com

9 Comments
  1. After reading your answer, I am into so much more fluff than the deeper stuff.

    I do some serious reading, but not for my recreational reading. I separate my serious reading from my recreational reading. On my blog I only talk about my recreational reading.

    I like to be entertained when I read. However, I like to think that my reading choices have improved over the years.

  2. Love your BTT!

    Here is my short and sweet answer :)
    http://lusbookblog.blogspot.com/2010/08/booking-through-thursday.html

  3. Very interesting, I do not believe I’ve ever stayed away from a genre aside from the fact that I might find it boring. Have a wonderful day!

  4. Except for paranormal fiction, I have always read pretty much everything. It can only get better with time and it is…

    Here is my BTT:

    Evolution post!

  5. My preference didn’t so much change as evolve. Here’s My BTT

  6. Mine has changed as well and it keeps on evolving. I also avoid books that are too explicit.

    The rest of my answer is here.

  7. When I was much younger teenage..so that is stone age. I used to read so many biographies,. Then in college I was into music so I read all about music history, composers, different periods etc. Then I went into a Stephen King phase. I really didn’t begin to read historical fiction until much later in my life. So that would be pre Civil War. LOL

  8. I used to read all kinds of books as a kid, but now I mainly read fiction.

Comments are closed.

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,544 other followers

