Musing Mondays (Mar.14)

This week’s musing asks…

Do you have a favorite children’s book? Either one that you loved as a child, or one that you discovered later, and still enjoy? Tell us about it!

When I was little, one of my favorite stories was The Pokey Little Puppy by Janette Sebring Lowrey. I don’t know why this was a favorite — it must have resonated with me in some way — but I always went back to that book, over and over.

LOL… Maybe it was the bit of A.D.D. in me that made me love this book — the little puppy was always getting distracted, and falling behind, and that was a lot like me, I guess. ;)

Anyhoo. I had other favorites, too. But, this one stands out first-and-foremost in my mind.

Edited to Add: Someone’s comment reminded me of another all-time favorite children’s book of mine: “Jenny’s in the Hospital” by Seymour Reit. Of course, the first thing that drew me to this one was the fact that the main character and I share the same first name. ;) But, I also loved how Jenny got a tour of the hospital, and how, even though she was scared, people reassured her. I borrowed this one from the school library soooo many times, I should’ve just asked my mom to buy it off of them! LOL. And, recently (within the last couple of years), I got the local library to interlibrary loan a copy for me to reread. So interesting to reread something you hadn’t read in 20 years or more! LOL. ;)

PLEASE LEAVE A COMMENT with either the link to your own Musing Mondays post, or share your answer in a comment here (if you don’t have a blog). Thanks. :D

26 thoughts on “Musing Mondays (Mar.14)

  1. Oh he looks so cute. My favourite children’s book was about a dog too – Hairy Maclary. A real Kiwi favourite. One of the later ones was Hairy Maclary and Zachary Quack – a cute little duckling. I can still recite all the words and I don’t even have kids to read it too!!

  2. My favorite was a Little Golden Book, too!! Little Mommy. I always wanted the setup that little girl had with her dolls, her doll furniture, her little washboard. It’s no surprise that all I ever wanted to be when I was a little girl…was a Mommy!! Although, my husband replaced my copy with one he found on ebay for $65, I was SO excited to see Little Mommy newly re-issued last year. I bought several copies to share. I took one in to the Kindergarten room where I worked as a teacher’s assistant, thinking all the little girls would LOVE it as much as I did. The teacher claimed it was sexist (Mommy stays home to take care of the babies, Billy goes off to work) and refused to put it out for the kids to look at. She kinda invalidated my whole life!! lol

  3. My sisters and I had a ton of Little Golden Books, including this one. In fact, we often refered to my baby sister as The Poky Little Puppy as she was always lagging behind or slowing us down.

  4. The Poky Little Puppy was a favorite of mine, too! That and Are You My Mother? Apparently, my parents read that to me so many times that if my dad got a single word wrong, he got “in trouble” with me!

Comments are closed.