Skip to content

Musing Mondays (July 18)

July 18, 2011

This week’s musing asks…

What is the last book you struggled to read through to the end, even though you weren’t really enjoying it? What made you keep reading?




I have learned not to finish books (usually) that I’m not enjoying, because there already isn’t time to read everything I want to read — why waste time with a book I don’t like?

BUT…

I also feel that, with review books, that policy has to change, somewhat. I have to give the book a really good go. I don’t have to finish it, but I at least have to read past those first 50 pages to really say I “tried”.

The last book I struggled with was “Let God Change Your Life” by Greg Laurie. The book had some good points, and the last few chapters’ titles sounded like they were going to be more interesting… so I tried my best to press on, hoping and hoping that the book would get better. But, no… I was disappointed. I kept falling asleep while reading (or, almost), and I kept putting the book down to go do other things. It was such a chore to keep going! But, I gave it my best effort. And, I made it to four chapters from the end. Then I just couldn’t take it any more. I skimmed the last chapters, but didn’t read every word. I just couldn’t do it. And, then I wrote my review to reflect what I felt. :-?

So, I guess I can’t say I read it through to the end, despite my unenjoyment of it. But, like I said, I don’t normally keep going with books I don’t like, any more. I just can’t do it.

PLEASE LEAVE A COMMENT with either the link to your own Musing Mondays post, or share your answers in a comment here (if you don’t have a blog). Thanks! :D

31 Comments
  1. It’s hard to read a book I’m not really interested in, but then again, I hate to miss the ending.

    My answer is here: http://diannehartsocksalex.wordpress.com/alexs-blogs/

  2. I’ve changed my thinking on reading books I’m not interested in!

    http://ratb2.blogspot.com/2011/07/monday-memes.html

  3. It’s been a while since I read anything that I didn’t enjoy, but I did manage to think of one book that I was disappointed in.

    http://www.faeryinkpress.com/archives/663

  4. My answer is here

  5. I no longer read books all the way through if I’m having trouble with it.

    My MM is here: http://annsreadingcorner.blogspot.com

  6. As a librarian, I’m constantly telling children and teens not to struggle to finish a book they don’t like just to say they read it because there are too many good books out there to read! A few of the books I’ve struggled through and stopped reading over the past year has been:

    Persuasian by Jane Austen
    Pride & Prejudice by Jane Austen
    Mr Fix It by Crystal Hubbard

  7. This seems to be a recurring theme amongst readers. Here’s my MM:

    http://nofiltermom.blogspot.com/2011/07/musing-mondays_18.html

  8. I tend to love every book, apart from like 2 but don’t struggle to the end, just give up!

    http://wordsontheshelf.blogspot.com/2011/07/musing-mondays.html

  9. nsc12 permalink

    I’m not so sure I struggle wanting to get to the end of a book, but usually I struggle knowing that, eventually the end will come, whether I want it to or not. In any case, I did struggle getting through The Unknown Gulag, by Lynne Viola (although it was a very good book).

    http://italiatina.wordpress.com/2011/07/18/musing-mondays/

  10. My feelings are pretty much identical to yours. Normally I wouldn’t waste time on a book I didn’t enjoy…life’s too short!

    But since I’m doing more reviewing, I do feel the need to give a book a fighting chance. I’ve actually been rewarded a few times, when the book turned out much better than I expected, or finally kicked into gear.

    Cindy @ Cindy’s Book Club

  11. When I’m struggling with a book its usually because of the way the story is being told, not because of the story itself. So I always finish it, if only to know the whole story.

    Here is my MM:

    http://amysbookden.blogspot.com/2011/07/musing-mondays.html

  12. Its quite a surprise which book gave me trouble especially in the YA world Please come and check it out and tell me what you think ( and No its now Twilight..) :

    http://readliveplay.blogspot.com/2011/07/musing-mondays-july-18.html

  13. My last plow through book was “The Penguin Who Knew too Much.” I kept going because I wanted to get to the penguin part but it never really came. Here’s my review: http://ourstack.blogspot.com/2011/07/penguin-who-knew-too-much-by-donna.html

  14. I feel the same as you… I look around at my own library of books i have yet to read and know I can not waste time on a book that doesnt hook me.

  15. I struggle every few years as I make my attempt at reading “Don Quixote” all the way through. I inevitably get somewhere in the middle when I look over at all of the other books I’d rather be reading and just stop cold. I think because it’s a classic, I feel bad. The same rule does not apply to other non-classic books. If it doesn’t grab me 50-100 pages in, I move on to the next on the pile.

  16. Ren permalink

    I’ve been finding that over the last few years, I just can’t get through books the way I used to. For some reason, my mind seems to wander off and that’s when I know I need to just put it down and walk away.

  17. Normally I don’t finish books I find boring, but if I think it’s worth my time (no matter how boring it is) I will finish it.
    I am currently working my way through Les Miserables and then moving on to War and Peace. Though they can drag a bit, there are so many reasons it is worth my time.

    http://www.farewelloffice.com/?p=521

  18. Ex-Libris by Ross King. It’s more history than story, but I ended up enjoying the history a lot.
    My full answer is posted.

  19. The last book I struggled through was “Mercy” by Jodi Picoult. The concept was good but the writing wasn’t. It didn’t flow and the brief historical narratives about Scotland threw me off. I only kept reading it because I wanted to know what the final verdict would be. Most of Jodi’s books has courtroom drama.

Comments are closed.

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,888 other followers