Skip to content

Musing Mondays (Sept.19)

September 19, 2011

This week’s musing asks…

How often do you read a book, just because you’re in the mood to read it? (not because you’re obligated to for a book club, or a challenge, or for review)

As I’ve stated, over the last couple of days, I don’t often –any more– read books “just for the heck of it”. I read for review, or a challenge, or for book club. I might throw in a random library choice here and there, but for the most part, my reading is obligatory.

But, as I also stated over the last couple of days, that is going to change, right shortly. I’m taking a break from “obligatory” reading, and I’m going to read “just for fun” for a while. And, I’m actually really excited about it! ;)

Now, when the books on my shelves call me to (finally) come read them, I can think, “Soon! I promise!” – and actually mean it! LOL

PLEASE LEAVE A COMMENT with either the link to your own Musing Mondays post, or share your answer in a comment here (if you don’t have a blog). Thanks! :D

26 Comments
  1. Good for you for taking a break from “obligatory” reading and reading just for fun again. I really need to do the same.

    Here’s my Musing

  2. I don’t obligate myself to reading something unless I am in the mood for it. Check out my answer for this weeks Monday Musing.

  3. Ok, I have not made a total great, but I have cut way back…as you can read about HERE

    http://caitesdayatthebeach.blogspot.com/2011/09/musing-mondaylife-is-short.html

  4. I’m glad you’re getting around to reading all your books! We should all be reading what we WANT instead of what we NEED to read! :)

    http://literary-exploration.blogspot.com/2011/09/musing-mondays-5.html

  5. Interesting question. You can find my answer here: Amy’s Monday Memes!

  6. Yes, I often think I should just throw the “musts” out the window. Here’s my musing:

    http://rainysnowday.wordpress.com/2011/09/19/monday-potpourri-musings-sept-19/

  7. Reading should never be another task you don’t want to do that day.

    Here is mine: http://robinquinn.wordpress.com/2011/09/19/musing-mondays-3/

  8. Spontaneity is my rule. My full answer is posted.

  9. Sometimes you just need a break. Here’s my response on my blog

  10. We should all read for pleasure! Here’s my post: Adventures in Borkdom

    -Mandy

  11. This is a great question I’ve been struggling with lately. Here’s our response; http://bookishlybloggers.blogspot.com/2011/09/musing-monday-from-rae_19.html?showComment=1316485533578#c4169478132412736648

    -Caressa

  12. Every week I choose books I’d like to read for pleasure. I have a couple I do for Bible studies but other than that, I choose them because I’m in the mood to read them. Only rarely will I do a book club book. I find reading much more enjoyable this way.

Comments are closed.

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,738 other followers