Skip to content

Musing Mondays (Nov.28)

November 28, 2011

This week’s musing asks…

Will you be buying books for the holidays, this year? If so, for whom, and why?

I don’t think I’ll be buying books, this year… well, then again, I might. ;)  My son is interested in graphic novels, usually, and I just came across the complete “Bone” series in one volume at Costco, yesterday. He’d love that! And, he’s also mentioned an interest in the “Assassin’s Creed” novels, so I might get him those, too… we’ll see. He’s a 13-yr-old boy, so any time I can get him to read a book, I’m all over that! ;)

I don’t really know who else I’d buy for, though. I usually get Chapters gift cards for my stepdad and my stepmom, as both are readers, and it’s hard to know what to get them. But, I’m thinking of changing things up this year. So, we’ll see.

PLEASE LEAVE A COMMENT with either the link to your own Musing Mondays post, or share your answer in a comment here (if you don’t have a blog). Thanks! :D

46 Comments
  1. The first sentence is similar to mine.

    Here’s mine http://nazish0151.wordpress.com

  2. Books are my favorite gifts to give and get!

    Here’s my MM :)

  3. alouetteuette permalink

    For my family, it’s the other way round. I usually get book vouchers for Christmas because they don’t really know what to get me. :)

    Here’s my MM post: http://booksbiscuitsandtea.blogspot.com/2011/11/musing-mondays-8-buying-books-for.html

    xxx

  4. Patricia @ Lady with Books permalink

    The holidays are upon us! Everybody panic! :)~

    My answer can be found HERE

  5. Everyone’s getting books from me (plus last week’s question too because I didn’t get around to it last Monday) http://readingfuelledbytea.wordpress.com/2011/11/28/musing-mondays-something-new-and-presents/

  6. I shall be buying a book for myself as an xmas present. Why? Because the rest of my family don’t read a lot and refuse to buy me books as presents because, they say, I’ve got too many as it is. They’re probably right, but I’d be brainless without them.

  7. My answer can be found here. Thanks for the first one I’ve done which was a great topic!

    http://kayhynnturnsthepage.blogspot.com/2011/11/musing-mondays-nov-28-2011-edition.html

  8. My boyfriend is constantly saying, “No one loves books as much as you do.” So I will probably be buying only a few here and there. I just can’t stand knowing there is a book out there that is fantastic and they have to read it.

  9. All my answers are “no.” I’m not buying books for the holidays, just books for my pleasure.
    Full answer is posted.

  10. Even if you get your son graphic novels, it’s still a great gift that he’ll love!

    jenn | my Musing Mondays

  11. wcs53 permalink

    I’m not going to chance answering this question on my blog. I don’t want those I’m buying books for to read it and, knowing my luck, this is the one time they would. I have one book already bought for my wife, with quite a few others for our 12 yr old daughter and 10 yr old son. They both love reading, so we’ve tried to get a few ones they haven’t seen before and at least one each they specifically asked for. They both loved ‘Bone’ and I bought them the one volume edition (1,300 pages). Beware, though, because this edition is black and white. I’ll get round to reading it some time, hopefully.

  12. I love giving books as presents… my preteen daughter would rather have books than clothes. I must be doing something right. ;-) My MM: http://etjrmbach.blogspot.com/2011/11/gift-of-reading-musing-mondays.html

  13. I think the gift of reading is best to share. :D Good luck in finding pressies. My MM

  14. Jessica@a GREAT read permalink

    OOh interesting!

    Here’s my Teaser

  15. My family hates to get books on christmas, which I find exremely sad.

    Link Here is mine! :) Happy Reading!

  16. I remember when I was a web designer, I would see design inspiration in everything! It taught me a different way of observation. Thanks for sharing!

    My teaser is on 11/22/63 by Stephen King: http://www.knittingandsundries.com/2011/11/teaser-tuesdays-november-29-2011.html

  17. oops! scratch that comment from here! I put it on the wrong post! :)

  18. You understand it, but the question is, what is it you now understand? I am intrigued!

    My TT for this week is at http://rantsnscribbles.blogspot.com/2011/11/meme-teaser-tuesday-november-29-2011.html

  19. Great teaser!

    Teaser Tuesdays at Book Addict!

Comments are closed.

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,852 other followers