Skip to content

REVIEW: “Shiver” by Maggie Stiefvater

January 11, 2012

Book 1, The Wolves of Mercy Falls trilogy

When Grace was a little girl, she was attacked by wolves in her backyard. But, not just any wolves… werewolves. What she remembers most from her attack, though, is the wolf with the yellow eyes; the one that didn’t attack her, but just stood off to the side, watching.

This same werewolf turns out to be named Sam. And, because Grace has spent the years since her attack watching him in the woods behind her house, she feels an immediate attraction to him when she finally meets him in person. And, he feels the same toward her.

But Sam can’t stay human for very long, and so the young couple has to treasure the short time they have to spend together.

I was sucked into this book right from the very first pages. I’m sure it helps that Sam’s part-time “human” job was in a small, quaint bookshop. ;)

This is definitely a teen type of book, but I thoroughly enjoyed it. The characters were done up well, even if some only had minor appearances. And, the romance built up nicely — I felt that there was just enough suspense/tension to keep me reading.

The ending leaves you wanting to know what will happen in the second book, so you can be sure you’ll see a review of that pop up here, eventually. ;)

I’m glad I finally got around to reading this one. Recommended.

From → 2012, reviews

3 Comments
  1. I just loved Shiver. I reviewed it just 5 minutes ago. Glad we’re on the same page with Shiver. I read Linger and I’m telling you that it’s worth the read even more than Shiver!

    Don’t forget to enter my giveaway of Dragon’s Oath(and spread the news if you can) here!

  2. This is my current read. I was only on a few pages and I agree with you, I’m finding myself turning the pages more and more.

  3. I loved this entire series. I have very much enjoyed everything I’ve read my Maggie Stiefvater. My current audio book selection is her book, The Scorpio Races. I’m about half way into it and I tell you, it is GOOD!

    ps. I’m new to your site and I’m really digging it. Loving your “weekly events.”

Comments are closed.

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,745 other followers