Skip to content

Musing Mondays (Feb.27)

February 27, 2012

This week’s musing asks…

Do you read books that are part of a series?
Do you collect all the books in the series before starting? What if the series is brand new, and the only book that’s been published so far is Book one? As subsequent books in the series are published, do you go back and re-read the preceding books?

I have collected series books, but I don’t have to wait ’til I have all of them before I start reading. And, I’ve jumped in at book three, before, and had to go back to find books one and two — but that was mainly because I didn’t know the book was part of a series when I read a book already several into it (for example: Robyn Carr’s “Grace Valley” series, and Gaelen Foley’s “Knight” miscellany).

I’ve been collecting Kathy Reichs’ “Temp Brennan” series, but have only read the first book, so far. Same with Tess Gerritsen’s “Jane Rizzoli” series (starts with “The Surgeon”, which I’ve read).

In fact, if you check out my series’ blog, you can see the ones that I’ve been collecting, and the ones that I hope to read some day (it’s in desperate need of an update, mind you!). I made the blog so that I could keep track of which order the series books go in. I haven’t read every series there, but am hoping to get around to most of them. There have been lots of series I’ve started, but then haven’t continued with… at least, yet. I might still, some day.

I don’t need to go back and re-read previous books before continuing on with a series. If I forget what’s happening, I’ll usually remember after having gotten a little ways into the new book. Or, if not, there’s always my book journal to jog my memory (that’s why I keep one!). :D

PLEASE LEAVE A COMMENT with either the link to your own Musing Mondays post, or share your answer in a comment here (if you don’t have a blog). Thanks! :D

47 Comments
  1. I just discovered FictFact.com and I’m using that site to track the series that I want to keep up with. I follow a few series, but sometimes I’ll read a book that’s part of a series, but I don’t really want to read any more – even though I liked the book. And I dislike those long 10-20 book series!

  2. My answer is here

  3. My Musing Monday is here.

  4. Happy Monday everyone! Here’s mine!

  5. I collect a few series – http://wp.me/p1t7Ho-CY

  6. This turns out to be a timely question for me. It fit right into my review post for today. Here is my musing.

    http://mixedbookbag.blogspot.com/2012/02/musing-mondays-february-27-2012.html

  7. Great question(s)! Here’s my MM

  8. I often read series books out of order, too, depending on when I discover them. Here’s MY MUSING MONDAYS POST

  9. Patricia @ Lady with Books permalink

    Monday? Again? Where does the time go?

    My answer can be found HERE.

  10. I’m always intrigued by series, but they make me anxious too…

  11. I used to read series frequently as a child, but I’ve grown out of it as an adult. I did really enjoy The Hunger Games trilogy though!

    http://beautifullyalivebooks.wordpress.com/2012/02/27/musing-mondays-series/

  12. Great question! I do enjoy a series.

    Here’s my answer: http://kwizgiver.blogspot.com/2012/02/musing-mondays_27.html

  13. Here are my answers:

    http://shimmeringtales.blogspot.com/2012/02/meme-musing-mondays-1.html

    It’s the very first time I did this meme and I’m really excited to participate every week! :)

  14. Great topic! I did my own Musing Monday here: http://escapismthroughbooks.blogspot.com/2012/02/musing-series-books-ftw.html

    I LOVE series books. :D

  15. I love your Monday Musing questions. they always get me thinking!! I didn’t have time to post this week, but it was still on my mind come new Giveaway… so your question w/ a link back to your blog is on my giveaway this week along with my answer… YES!! Love series!!!

    http://burgandyice.blogspot.com/2012/02/leap-into-books-giveway-hop.html

Comments are closed.

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,822 other followers