Musing Mondays (Mar.19)

This week’s musing asks…

Would you choose to review a book if its description sounded interesting but the cover was terrible? [thanks to The Bookish Brunette for the idea for today’s MM question!]

 

I honestly am enough of a book cover snob that I would probably choose to decline the book if the cover sucked. LOL. I know that’s awful, but honestly, if the book was worth its salt, I think the author or publisher would’ve taken the time to make the cover look good, too!

But, that’s just IMHO.

I know that a great cover doesn’t mean that the book is going to be fantastic. I’ve learned that “lesson” the hard way, believe me! Being a cover-junkie, I just can’t help myself, though! I love book covers, and am drawn to the prettier ones! LOL.

And, yes, I’m aware that a crappy cover doesn’t necessarily mean that the book is going to be crappy as well. But it certainly doesn’t make me want to read it! Book covers are meant to draw the reader in, if you ask me. And, there are enough out there that do just that!

PLEASE LEAVE A COMMENT with either the link to your own Musing Mondays post, or share your answer in a comment here (if you don’t have a blog). Thanks! :D

50 thoughts on “Musing Mondays (Mar.19)

  1. I would be more inclined not to myself.. but I am going to have to ponder that one. I will be back with mine since it is not even 11 PM on Sunday here in AK!

  2. There was a time when it wouldn’t have stopped me, but in these days of self-pub, a bad cover immediately makes me think the quality overall will be less than professional.

Comments are closed.