Skip to content

The Sunday Salon (Dec. 30)

December 30, 2012

sundaysalon3Well, this has not been a fun week for me. On December 24th (last Monday), I woke up with chills, and feeling achey, and with the cough that I’d already had deciding it was going to be much worse. I spent the day lying on the couch, passing in and out of sleep.

This continued throughout most of the week, thereby ruining my Christmas gatherings. I did manage to make it over to my Mom’s on Christmas day, but I was a zombie… it wasn’t the best of Christmases, that’s for sure. I am only now — almost a full week later — starting to feel a little more like myself, again.

The worst part was, there was a family gathering on the evening of December 27th that I’d soooo been looking forward to, as my cousin was home visiting, and she’s a favorite cousin. I haven’t seen her in at least 5 years, if not more, so I was very much looking forward to getting in some quality time. Needless to say, my stupid cold (or, whatever this is), kept me home, and I did not get to see my cousin. :( Oh, man, was it ever hard to stay home that night, especially since hubby & the kids went over to his parents’ house for a visit, given that we weren’t going to my Aunt’s after all. So, I was left home alone.

Anyhoo. Enough whining. That’s how my week’s been, and I’m done with the pity-party. LOL

RadicalWellbeing_RitaHancockMDI got a book in the mail, the other day, so that helped to perk me back up. It was “Radical Well-Being” by Rita Hancock, M.D. Dr. Rita is the author of “The Eden Diet” (which I highly, highly recommend!), and she had emailed to ask if I’d like to read & review this newest book of her’s. I agreed, and now it’s here. I’ve already started reading it, and so far, it’s good.

I’m starting to really get excited for the new year. I love a fresh start, and new years are great for that. ;) I’ve been prepping my blogs for the switch over to 2013, and trying to decide whether or not I will participate in any reading challenges… I’m thinking probably not, as I’m just tired of that. I will do my own sort of “challenge”, in that I will still try to get a lot of TBRs read, etc. But, I don’t want to sign up for anything and put that kind of pressure on myself.

The one “challenge”, of sorts, that I am doing is taking part in Holley Gerth’s “God-Sized Dream” project. It’s 6 months of pursuing a God-given dream in cahoots with 99 other fellow women bloggers, and reading & reviewing Holley’s upcoming new book, “You Are Made for a God-Sized Dream” (March 2013). I already reviewed her eBook, “The Do What You Can Plan” — which you’ll be able to get your hands on soon, as it releases January 1st! It’s a fantastic little book full of motivation to get you moving on your dreams and goals. It basically tells you to start now, and keep on going! :D

I also blogged about what my God-sized dreams are for 2013. Yes, my list is ambitious. But, the things on that list are all of great importance to me. So, I’m looking forward to seeing where God takes me with each of them in the new year!

tired_of_starting_overOne of my “dreams” is to finally get over my weight issues, once and for all. I have about fifty excess pounds that need to go, and I plan to use the Intuitive Eating method (aka “mindfulness”) to help me shed the pounds. It worked for me, before, so I know it will work for me, again. And, as part of that goal, I put up new inspirational posters on my bedroom wall, yesterday. One of them is a picture I found in a magazine of a 99-year-old woman named Esther, who still runs marathons! I mean, seriously… if a 99-year-old woman can run a marathon, then I have absolutely NO EXCUSES for sitting on my butt and complaining about my health! It is time to do something, instead of always bemoaning my situation but never changing. I Googled it, and found this story of another 90-something who still runs marathons, too — this mega-inspires me!

MrPenumbras24HrBookstore_RobinSloanOn a bookish note, the other day I picked up a book from the local library called “Mr. Penumbra’s 24-Hour Bookstore” by Robin Sloan. The cover of it is very unassuming, but I still kind of like it because it’s all books. Well, now I love this cover even more! Why? Because, that night, when I went to bed, I shut off the light, and thought it weird that this book seemed to be “glowing” on my bookshelf… so, I went over to inspect it… and found out that it is a glow-in-the-dark book cover!!! Can we say… Coolest. Library book. EVER!!! ..? I was giddy! I grabbed the book and rushed out to the other room to share my finding with my hubby & kids. Hubby was a party-pooper and wasn’t nearly as impressed by this find as I was. My kids, on the other hand, thought it was pretty cool. ;) LOL

Yes, small things amuse me. :P

Anyhoo. I will be staying home, today, as my family goes out to one last family Christmas gathering (I am still coughing, and don’t want to go around my niece’s new baby, or get anyone else sick, for that matter). Then, tomorrow I am working for four hours in the morning, and we’ll stay home and do our traditional New Years’ Eve thing:  steak & seafood-stuffed mushroom caps for dinner, then watch a couple of movies until the “Ball” drops in Times Square on TV. Then I’ll head to bed.

Wishing every one of my readers a very HAPPY NEW YEAR! Stay safe… and, Cheers! :D

 

6 Comments
  1. I certainly hope you feel better. That is awful to be sick for the holidays.

    I like the sound of Mr. Penumbra’s 24-Hour Bookstore…hope it is good.

    Happy New Year!!

    Elizabeth
    Silver’s Reviews
    My Blog

  2. I hope you start feeling better soon, and it’s sucks that you had to miss out on the holiday festivities. I’m sure they were thinking of you and hopefully you’ll be able to usher in the New Year feeling better.

  3. Amy @ My Friend Amy permalink

    aw I’m so sorry you had such rough holidays. Here’s to feeling better, soon!

  4. Thanks so much, ladies! I’m starting to feel better… hopefully this bug is almost gone!

  5. ladyambrosiaj permalink

    Happy New Year to you. Glad your starting to feel better.

  6. Aw, man! Being sick during the holidays is the worst! I’m glad you’re starting to feel better.

Comments are closed.

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,723 other followers