Skip to content

Musing Mondays: My Nerdiness (Feb.25)

February 25, 2013

MusingMondays5Musing Mondays asks you to muse about one of the following each week…

• Describe one of your reading habits.
• Tell us what book(s) you recently bought for yourself or someone else, and why you chose that/those book(s).
• Tell us what you’re reading right now — what you think of it, so far; why you chose it; what you are (or, aren’t) enjoying it.
• Do you have a bookish rant? Something about books or reading (or the industry) that gets your ire up? Share it with us!
• Instead of the above questions, maybe you just want to ramble on about something else pertaining to books — let’s hear it, then!

My Musing:

One of my reading habits is to take notes while I read nonfiction. Most of the books I read are borrowed from the library, as I cannot afford to buy all the books I want (not to mention, I don’t yet have the space to store all the books, either — some day I’ll have my own in-home library, but that’s another post for another day ;) ).

Every time I start to read a new nonfiction book, I will have a notebook & pen ready beside me. I usually write “Notes & Quotes from…” plus the book’s title and author at the top of the page. Then, as I read, every time something resonates with me, or jumps out at me, or is something I want to remember, I write it down — page number, and quote.

One of the things I am trying to learn to do is to write down my thoughts as I’m reading, too. If I read something, and it makes me think of something related, but not necessarily in the text, I want to capture that. Goodness knows, there’ve been so many times where a thought has crossed my mind as I was reading, but I didn’t capture it. And later, I’ll wish I had, because it would’ve been useful! In fact, just a couple of days ago, I had a thought come to me as I was reading “Making Habits, Breaking Habits” by Jeremy Dean, and I wrote it down. LOL @ this book being about habits, and me doing something that I want to make into a habit! :P

I have started to write on the inside front cover of these notebooks the titles of the books whose notes are contained within. This way, when I pick up a particular notebook, I can see if the notes are in there that I’m looking for, rather than paging through the whole notebook to see. I put several books’ worth of notes in one notebook, so this is a time-saving, handy reference.

I love writing down notes from these nonfiction books as it lets me go back and remember things without having to check the book out from the library, again. Not to mention, I am a very visual learner, so writing these quotes down as I go helps to cement the information in my mind, better. I have quicker recall of the info. Here’s a good example of this: The book I’m currently reading (“Making Habits, Breaking Habits“) just mentioned a bunch of stuff from Brian Wansink’s book, “Mindless Eating“, recounting a bunch of the studies that Mr. Wansink had done and included in his own book. And, since I’ve read that, this information was already tucked away in my brain, thanks to my note-taking habit.

Anyway. Now, of course, all of you are going to think I’m even more of a nerd than maybe you’d guessed before. But, that’s okay. I like my bookish habits. ;)

Book Geek (pic from Pinterest.com)

PLEASE LEAVE A COMMENT with either the link to your own Musing Mondays post, or share your answer in a comment here (if you don’t have a blog). Thanks! :D

28 Comments
  1. Like you, I like to take notes while reading – even with fiction if I am going to write a review of the book. Here’s a bookish rant of mine: http://daystarz.wordpress.com/2013/02/25/bookish-rant/

  2. I am a very visual learner, so writing these quotes down as I go helps to cement the information in my mind, better.

    I’d bet if I took more notes I would remember facts better too, not just have the info for writing reviews. Good idea! :)

  3. ladyambrosiaj permalink

    Taking notes sounds like a good idea. I have a semi photographic memory so I remember a lot but not everything.

    Here is my musing: http://icewarmth.com/musing-monday-22513/

  4. I probably should write notes as well when reading a non-fiction book, but I forget. Here is my answer: http://jaynesbooks.blogspot.com/2013/02/its-monday-what-are-you-reading-feb-25.html

  5. I should try taking notes too, especially when reviewing a book. I don’t always remember everything by the time I get to the end.

    Here’s my musing for the week…

    http://socratesbookreviews.blogspot.com/2013/02/musing-mondays-reading-and-writing.html

  6. griperang permalink

    I want to say that I enjoyed your post today. If you are a nerd then I must be too. I don’t read a lot of non-fiction books but I make notes when I am reading fiction books because if I don’t I may not remember something I wanted to include in my review of the book. I have sticky notes everywhere I sit and read.

    I have also started carrying a notebook with me that way if a thought pops into my head for a post I want to do on my blog I can write it down otherwise I will forget. I too am a visual person and writing things down helps me to remember things better.

    You know what they say – great minds think alike.

  7. I need to start taking note’s while reading, especially when I plan to write a review because I’m crazy forgetful. This is my first time participating in your Musing Monday meme, I’m a new blogger so I hope I have participated correctly. Have a good week

    Here is my Musing http://combatbootsandpoptarts.blogspot.com/2013/02/monday-musing.html

  8. I’m also very visual in my learning…and taking notes helps “cement” thoughts in my mind, too. Here’s MY MUSING MONDAYS MEMES POST

  9. I don’t read all that much nonfiction these days, but I think it’s a great idea to keep track of your notes and take them as you read!
    Here’s my Musing Mondays Post
    Megan @ Love, Literature, Art, and Reason

  10. I especially take notes when reading nonfiction for school. Not so much for biographies or autobiographies, though.

    Here’s my Musing: http://www.kwizgiver.com/2013/02/musing-mondays_25.html

  11. Patricia @ Lady with Books permalink

    I should probaby take notes too. Remembering everything I wanted to say for a review is hard.

    My musing can be found

    http://ladywithbooks.wordpress.com/2013/02/25/musing-monday-feb-25-2013/

  12. I am musing about the Freedom to Read in honour of Freedom to Read week.

    http://wideawakeandreading.blogspot.ca/2013/02/monday-musing-celebrating-freedom-to.html

  13. I do have a note book especially for quotes that catch my mind. I keep it handy by the bedside so I can record those words worth remembering. My daughter and I have a book club but we do not meet on a regular basis and thus the books we are discussing are not always fresh on our minds. We have both agreed to start keeping book journals where we will record our intial thoughts and reactions to the books we read in hopes that this will jolt our memory come meeting time.

  14. Here’s my musing where I’m pondering how we pick the books we read :)

  15. This is what I’m reading right now… wp.me/p1t7Ho-Tx

  16. Let’s try that again with an actual link… this is what I’m reading right now! http://wp.me/p1t7Ho-Tx

    • Unfortunately I get a ” your current account doesn’t allow access” when I click on your link :-(

  17. I’m like that too! Sometimes I think I’m taking too many notes, so I go: “Oh, I don’t have to write this down, I’ll just memorize it.” And of course I forget it. I love the picture at the end of your post, it would make a good book cover :)
    Here’s mine: http://timeforreading.wordpress.com/2013/02/25/musing-mondays-2/

  18. I stopped making notes when I left uni but I think it’s a habit I need to get back into. Here is my musing: http://literarynerdsunite.blogspot.co.uk/2013/02/musing-mondays_25.html

  19. Late, since it’s already Tuesday where I am, but I really wrote the post yesterday :p

    http://marineko.blogspot.com/2013/02/musing-mondays-what-im-reading-feb-25.html

  20. Hi MizB

    ‘Nerdies’ of the world unite!!

    I always make notes when I am reading a book; either character observations, salient points I may want to remember about the story, or simply quotes which I find to be the most profound or interesting.

    I also have another notebook where I jot down ideas for future blog posts and another which tells me the reviews I have outstanding and in which order I should read them, together with any relevant posts which I think I should include the book or author in.

    I couldn’t manage without all these visual aids, that’s for sure!!

    Yvonne

  21. Are you a Nerdfighter (no, we don’t fight nerds)? Here’s my Musing Monday: http://bit.ly/YxLxco

Comments are closed.

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,860 other followers