Skip to content

BTT: Influence

February 28, 2013

btt4I haven’t played along in the Booking Through Thursday event in quite some time, but I’m feeling like doing so, today. Mind you, I’m choosing to answer a question from a couple of weeks ago, which asks:

Do other people influence what you choose to read? When a family member recommends something, or a friend says they hated a book you were planning to read … does it affect your reading choices?

 

My answer:

At first, I was going to say that others don’t influence my reading choices. But, upon further reflection, I see that they do, in fact, do so.

The majority of books I’ve read in the last few years are ones that I’ve found via blogger recommendations/reviews online. Even if they haven’t directly said to me, specifically, “Hey, you should read this!“, they have still influenced what I’ve chosen to read.

Also, when I get emails offering books for review, these are -in effect- “recommendations”, too. These also influence what I choose to read. Instead of picking a book off my shelves, I am “influenced” to choose to read these review books, instead (first).

As far as family and friends coming up to me and telling me I need to read this or that, no — I’m not often persuaded (influenced) by that. For one, because people don’t often do that. But, also because I always have so many other books on the go already that I just don’t take those recommendations all that seriously. Ha! Maybe that’s why people don’t recommend books to me! :P

My original thought that no one really influences me was based on the fact that I’ve always been extremely stubborn, refusing to follow fads and trends. I like to do my own thing. And, that spills over into my reading choices, too. I’ll make up my own mind, thank you very much! LOL. But, like I said, I see now that I am subtly influenced by others — I just didn’t see that until now.

 

2 Comments
  1. I have a question too, but I hope it won’t “influence” your reading, because who knows what might happen! My question is this:

    Have you read any contemporary novels set in foreign countries? And if so, would you mind telling me which they are? I’m always looking for “outside the borders” tales to get a feel about the rest of the world other than from TV and other news media.

    • City of Dark Magic” by Magnus Flyte was set in Prague. It’s about Beethoven, and a chemical that allowed this girl to “see” him in present-day. It was a great story!

      I’ll have to think about any others I could recommend. ;)

Comments are closed.

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,862 other followers