Skip to content

Teaser Tuesdays: Quitter (Mar.5)

March 5, 2013

Teaser Tuesdays is a weekly bookish meme, hosted by MizB of Should Be Reading. Anyone can play along! Just do the following:

• Grab your current read
• Open to a random page
• Share two (2) “teaser” sentences from somewhere on that page
• BE CAREFUL NOT TO INCLUDE SPOILERS! (make sure that what you share doesn’t give too much away! You don’t want to ruin the book for others!)
• Share the title & author, too, so that other TT participants can add the book to their TBR Lists if they like your teasers!

Quitter_JonAcuffMy Teasers:

“We wait for the lightning strike that will completely redefine our lives and give us clear direction. But the truth is, the greatest impact tends to come from hinge moments.”

~ p.43, “Quitter: Closing the Gap Between Your Day Job & Your Dream Job” Jon Acuff


PLEASE LEAVE A COMMENT with either the link to your own Teaser Tuesdays post, or share your ‘teasers’ in a comment here (if you don’t have a blog). Thanks! :D

{The link for the comments is at the BOTTOM of this post.}

147 Comments
  1. That’s true *nods* Thanks for sharing this teaser!

    Here’s my teaser for this week: http://www.caffeinatedlife.net/blog/2013/03/04/meme-teaser-tuesdays-100/

  2. I’d be interested in reading how the author defines a “hinge moment.” Sounds like a good book.
    My Teaser is from THE LAW OF SIMILARS.

    • Aha! My teaser gotcha! :D
      (I was wondering if anyone would wonder what a “hinge moment” is!) ;)

  3. Can I admit I don’t know what a “hinge moment” is? I’m guessing it’s something much more subtle than a lightning strike, and I think that’s the case for just about everyone excluding Powerball winners and young entrepreneurs of the Zuckerberg variety.

    Stephanie (Go Flash Go) @ Read, Rinse, Repeat

    Here’s my TT from Prodigy by Marie Lu, FANTASTIC book.

  4. Interesting Teaser! :-)

    You can find mine here : http://www.sapphireddragon.com/2013/03/teaser-tuesday-51.html

    Have a good week!

  5. So very true. Awesome teaser!

    Here are the teasers from Book Munchies (:

  6. Interesting teaser! Here is my teaser for this week.

  7. “Hinge moments” is an interesting term, new to me.
    :)

  8. Hmmm…interesting. It certainly makes you think.

    My TT

  9. Interesting teaser… I will admit I have no idea what a hinge moment is, but the rest is awesome. :D

    Check out my teaser at http://www.onemilysbookshelf.com/2013/03/teaser-tuesdays.html

  10. What a thoughtful teaser! And so true. Thanks for sharing.

    Here’s mine, from Second Rate Chances: http://thebookishbabes.blogspot.com/2013/03/teaser-tuesday-second-rate-chances.html

  11. hinge term is totally new to me. Thank yo for sharing the post! Here’s mine: Reese’s Reviews

  12. I’m not su sure about that. It probably depends if you let those moments change things or not.

    My teaser this week is from Code Name Verity by Elizabeth Wein.

  13. Interesting. I think I probably agree, if I’m reading “hinge moments” correctly. Good teaser!

    Here’s my teaser for this week:
    http://jlshall.blogspot.com/2013/03/teaser-tuesdays-happy-hollisters.html

  14. But isn’t the moment of a lightning strike a huge moment?

    Mine is up

    • Sure! Absolutely! But, I think the point he’s trying to make is that it’s not all “lightning strike” moments, either… sometimes it’s the quieter things that can almost pass by unnoticed that still turn your life in a new direction, right?

  15. I like your teaser, gives you stuff to think about :-) Thanks for sharing.
    My Teaser of Wait for You by Jennifer L. Armentrout + a giveaway

  16. Interesting teaser. I especially liked the first sentence. Very inspiring.

    My Teaser is from Starcrossed by Josephine Angelini: http://dream-wish-live.blogspot.com/2013/03/teaser-tuesdays.html

  17. That’s a great teaser! Not to forget to mention the fact that it’s very true! :)

    Here’s my Teaser Tuesday post.

    Happy reading and see you around! :D

    Sarika @ The Readdicts

  18. Wow! Thanks for sharing.

    Here’s my birthday teaser

    ~Danica Page@Taking it One Page at a Time

  19. You read quite a few motivational books (or am I assuming wrong? :P)!

    Here’s mine at http://bookcritiquerscommentary.blogspot.com/2013/03/teaser-tuesdays-4.html

    • LOL. No, you’re right on that. I love motivational books! I love books that make me think, make me grow, teach me something. I read a TON of nonfiction. In fact, you should see the list of nonfiction books that I want to read that are “challenging” to me! Some people would look at those books and think I’m crazy to want to read them! ;)

  20. Oh, yeah. Changing your life always involves hard work — lightning flashes don’t usually bring something good, but bad. Like accidents, deaths, etc. “Careful what you wish for”, right?
    Today, my TT is from Flawed.

  21. Great teaser, makes you think about what you’ve read. Here is my teaser tuesay:

    http://thediaryofabookaddict.wordpress.com/2013/03/05/teaser-tuesday-3-2/

  22. This is true ~ anything and everything, now matter how insignificant it may seem, can lead to that defining moment… great teaser :)

    My Teasers

    Happy Reading :)

    Keely @ Realms of an Open Mind

  23. What a dose of reality that we needed. Here’s mine
    http://asthepageturns-page.blogspot.com

  24. starryeyedjen29 permalink

    Yep, I’ll admit, I’m still waiting for that lightning strike. :( Thanks for sharing!

    Here’s my teaser from Dark Triumph by Robin LaFevers. Happy Tuesday! :D

  25. Hi MizB,

    Those are some great teaser lines and probably some very wise words, although not always ones to which we can all adhere, although it would be nice in an ideal world.

    My Teaser Tuesday is here:

    http://www.fiction-books.biz/weekly-memes/teaser-tuesdays/the-englishman-and-the-butterfly-by-ryan-asmussen-2/

    Yvonne

    • Why only in an ideal world, Yvonne?

      I think we can have hinge moments and just not notice them… any time your life takes a turn that you didn’t see coming, that’s a “hinge”.

  26. Jessica@a GREAT read permalink

    OOh nice! Very thought provoking!

    Here’s my Teaser

  27. Interesting Teaser, here is mine for this week:
    CarolynBrown-Books

  28. I’m guessing a hinged moment is a that time just before the lighting strike, when things are rolling around and your trying to make a choice or come up with an idea. Interesting teaser. Thanks for sharing. My Teaser

  29. My teaser is from The Eternity Cure by Julie Kagawa.

  30. Hmm…”hinge moments.” Intriguing….and here’s MY TUESDAY MEMES POST

  31. Very true! Great teaser.
    The Autumn Review: Second Chance Boyfriend by Monica Murphy
    My TT

  32. I love this teaser. I would love to have this one in a greeting card.

    Here’s mine: http://kindreddreamheart.blogspot.com/2013/03/teaser-tuesdays-purgatory-reign-by-lm.html

  33. Good morning! My teaser for today is from Amber Polo’s Released, a cute book about dog-shifting librarians and book-burning werewolves. Enjoy! And thanks MizB for hosting.

  34. Here’s my first…=)

    TeaserTuesday

  35. Interesting teaser. Please come see my teasers for House Rules by Chloe Neill and Strands of Bronze and Gold by Jane Nickerson. Happy reading!

  36. Here’s my first…=)

    TeaserTuesday

  37. Oops ! The links in my previous post don’t work. Try this one. Please come see my teasers for House Rules by Chloe Neill and Strands of Bronze and Gold by Jane Nickerson. Happy reading!

  38. My teasers come from The Indigo Spell this week.

    Holly @ Words Fueled by Love

  39. Here is my teaser for this week :)

  40. Diggity! My teaser is from City of Bones, the first book in The Mortal Instruments series. It’s really quite good!

  41. hum..interesting.

    trish – my teaser

  42. Love this teaser…I know it exactly what it means! Here is mine:
    http://myliteraryconfessions.blogspot.com/2013/03/teaser-tuesday-mar-5.html

  43. Interesting teaser.

    Here’s mine: http://katesbooklife.blogspot.co.uk/2013/03/teaser-tuesday-60.html (Teasers from Legend by Marie Lu and Ever by Jessa Russo)

  44. teaser tuesday is really interesting ^^
    here is mine: http://francineschmoekert.wordpress.com/2013/03/05/wochentliche-events-teaser-tuesday-1/

    have a good day!
    franny

  45. Oh wow, awesome teasers. Really interesting. ^.^ Thanks for sharing. (:
    Happy Reading! :D

    —–
    Tiffa @ The British Book Nerd
    My Teaser Tuesday

  46. You always share such insightful teasers!

    Here’s my TT post!

  47. Great Teaser, I agree

    Here’s mine Teaser Tuesday

  48. Here’s my teaser for the week.

  49. This quote makes perfect sense. You can’t just wait for things to happen to you. You have to make decisions. (Okay, now I’m going to try to take my own advice….)

    Here’s my teaser!

  50. Wow! That’s a very good teaser.
    I’m reading The Fornarina Affair by Ellis Drake,

    Ai Love Books

  51. wow. that quote/teaser gave me goosebumps, it’s so true
    here is my Teaser Tuesday post

  52. Gosh, so, so true.

    Here’s my teaser from I Hunt Killers! :)

  53. Sounds like another great read, MizB!

    Here’s my TT

    Happy Tuesday!!!

  54. I got laid off from my day job which accelerate the dream job quite a bit, but I don’t really recommend that approach! Here’s my teaser: http://carolinebookbinder.blogspot.com/2013/03/teaser-tuesdays-sybil-exposed.html

    • Yeah, I hear ya… I’m currently out of work, too. Mind you, being out of work, I don’t have the money to pursue the “dream job” just yet. So, a-job-hunting I will go. ;)

      Good luck to you!

  55. My teaser this week — can’t wait to dig in to the others!

  56. Very true! Those lightening strikes are few and far between!

    My teaser is from All This Talk Of Love by Christopher Castellani.

  57. My teaser this week comes from The Runaway King by Jennifer A. Neilsen!

  58. That is a really great teaser!!! The most simple and surprising things can change our lives forever. Here’s my teaser for this week: http://owl-read-it.blogspot.ca/2013/03/teaser-tuesday-53.html

  59. Hinge moments–I believe would be those moments that change the direction of our lives. Great teaser. I’m teasing from Frozen Heat by Richard Castle kelley—the road goes ever ever on

  60. That’s truth right there! Great teaser!

    Here’s our TT!

  61. Good teaser. I’ve got two this week, from The Fault in Our Stars, and Sapphire Blue:

    http://daydreamertowriter.blogspot.ca/2013/03/two-teasers.html

  62. I definitely think this is true. Here’s Mine

  63. Oh you have some great teasers. Really true again. :)

    I’ve got a moment that the whole scene made me giggle. I loved it. It’s a bit of of scifi read, but it’s a great fun story with the characters in a dimensional world.
    http://melissa-melsworld.blogspot.com/2013/03/teaser-tuesday-153.html

  64. Ah the link wasn’t working, so here’s this one: http://aliaaelnashar.blogspot.com/2013/03/teaser-tuesday-12.html
    With THE ARCHIVED by Victoria Schwab!

  65. rosecityreader permalink

    You are reading another very interesting-sounding book. Great teaser.

    Mine is from a hilarious spy spoof by Hugh Laurie, aka Dr. House from tv: http://www.rosecityreader.com/2013/03/teaser-tuesdays-gun-seller.html

  66. I’ve quit more jobs than I can count. Now I work for me.

    http://fredasvoice.blogspot.ca/2013/03/teaser-tuesdays.html

    • Oh, what I wouldn’t give to be able to “work for me”! That’s my dream… but it still has to wait a while. Some day, though! ;)

  67. Thankfully, my day job is my dream job! Great tease.

    Mine is here.

  68. Hinge moments, never heard it put that way. This must be a really interesting book. I’ve heard so much about dreams lately.

  69. Great teaser!

    Here’s my teaser!

  70. My teaser for this week, from “Storm” by Brigid Kemmerer !

    http://katyisatacriticalmoment.blogspot.fr/2013/03/teaser-tuesdays-4.html

  71. Once again it seems like you found the perfect quote for your teaser!

    Here is our TEASER from Harlie’s Books. Come on by!

  72. What an interesting quote!

    here is my Teaser!

    My Teaser and Top Ten Tuesday (#2)
    LisaILJ @ I’ll Tumble for YA

  73. Oooh…. interesting tease!!

    This week‘s tease is from
    3 Sides to a Circle
    Naomi @ Nomi’s Paranormal Palace

  74. You always have some of the best motivational quotes ever.

    Here are My teaser

  75. ladyambrosiaj permalink

    My teaser for the week http://icewarmth.com/teaser-tuesday-3513/

  76. Thanks for the teaser!

    Reading Lark has teasers from The Edge of Nowhere, Confessions of a Cereal Mother, The Eternity Cure, & The Immortal Rules: http://readinglark.blogspot.com/2013/03/teaser-tuesday-edge-of-nowhere.html

  77. Our TT are on the theme of #ecoreads this month. Kicking off with Slow Death by Rubber Duck http://read.lib.uts.edu.au/2013/03/teaser-tuesday-5th-of-march-2013.html

  78. Great teaser! Really makes you think. Here’s my teaser

  79. How true. Here’s my Teaser

  80. Gotta agree with that!

    Here’s mine!

    Valerie
    StuckInBooks.com

  81. I think of how strange it is that I’m twelve and being served booze. But the beer can looks so frosty cold, and my teammates are watching. – from Open, by Andre Agassi

  82. Interesting teaser. It makes me think, I enjoy your non-fiction teasers.

    My Teaser and Top Ten Tuesday (#3)
    LisaILJ @ I’ll Tumble for YA

Comments are closed.

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,547 other followers