Skip to content

Musing Mondays (Mar.25)

March 25, 2013

MusingMondays5Musing Mondays asks you to muse about one of the following each week…

• Describe one of your reading habits.
• Tell us what book(s) you recently bought for yourself or someone else, and why you chose that/those book(s).
• What book are you currently desperate to get your hands on? Tell us about it!
*NEW!*
• Tell us what you’re reading right now — what you think of it, so far; why you chose it; what you are (or, aren’t) enjoying it.
• Do you have a bookish rant? Something about books or reading (or the industry) that gets your ire up? Share it with us!
• Instead of the above questions, maybe you just want to ramble on about something else pertaining to books — let’s hear it, then!


My Musing:

I added another question, this week, as sometimes I get tired of talking and talking and talking about the book I’m currently reading, and I don’t have an answer for the other questions listed. LOL. My meme, so I can change it up, right? :P

ManejwalaOmar_CravingThe book I’m currently desperate to get my hands on is “Craving: Why We Can’t Seem to Get Enough” by Omar Manejwala, M.D. I featured it in Friday Finds a week ago, and then was pleasantly surprised to receive an email from the author saying “Thanks” for doing so! :D In talking with him via email, I found out it does indeed have a review by Publisher’s Weekly, so I could go ahead and ask my local library system if they’d order a copy (they usually wait until a book’s been reviewed by either PW, or Library Journal, before they’ll think about ordering a book for the system). So, I put in a request, and am so excited because they’ve approved it! Therefore, I will get to read the book soon! Here’s the description:

When we find ourselves wanting something badly enough, we’ll do just about anything to get it–sometimes at the expense of our bodies, brains, bank accounts, and relationships. So why do we sometimes have the irrepressible feeling that we need something–such as food, cigarettes, alcohol, or sex– that we really just want? And how do we satiate that feeling without indulging it?

In Craving, nationally recognized addiction expert and former Hazelden Medical Director Omar Manejwala, M.D., translates the neurobiology of this phenomenon into accessible terms, explaining why we just can’t seem to get enough. He then gives us evidence-based tools and guidance to find satisfaction without having to give in to cravings.

And, here’s a brief excerpt from the book, from a chapter titled “The Tenacity of Craving“:

What is allowed us is disagreeable, what is denied us causes us intense desire.“–Orvid

Many of the people I have worked with over the years point out how stubborn cravings are. They often describe the sense that something has sunk its teeth into them and is not letting go. The harder they tug to try to remove it, the deeper the bite. Many of my patients describe this as wanting what they cannot have.

But we don’t always want what we can’t have… What you believe about the reason you can’t have something affects whether or not you want it. If you believe that the primary power that controls your life is also the primary reason you can’t have something, you want it more. This has significant implication when it comes to cravings, because it means that if you can develop a different perspective about why you are experiencing cravings, you may be able to reduce the depth of the bite. In my successful patients who believe in a higher power, when they experience cravings, they don’t blame God. They simply describe it as a part of their illness that they can diminish or alleviate by talking with others and practicing their programs.

In some ways, the description of this book reminds me a little bit of “The End of Overeating” by Dr. David Kessler. I don’t know why, as they aren’t really about the same topic even. I think it’s just the overall psychological aspect, maybe, that’s got me remembering the other book. Either way, I am anxious to get my hands on “Craving“. Sounds fantastic! :D

PLEASE LEAVE A COMMENT with either the link to your own Musing Mondays post, or share your answer in a comment here (if you don’t have a blog). Thanks! :D

18 Comments
  1. I’m not finding enough time to read lately! And with things going on in real life the last few months I found it hard to focus on more than something very short…however I have, for a while now, been reading books by fellow bloggers – ebooks. Some I love, all I like because of the connection ;-)

    Started following you recently and have wanted to contribute – so there it is, not a post but my answer for today :-)

    • Thanks for continuing to come back! :)

      I, too, love books by fellow bloggers. Right now, there’s one that I’m really looking forward to (that perhaps I should now add to a future MM! LOL) — Emily Freeman of Chatting At the Sky will be releasing her 3rd book in November. It’s called A Million Little Ways, and it’s about art & life. I sooo can’t wait to get my hands on it, as I loved her first book, “Grace For the Good Girl“. :D

      I just read Holley Gerth’s, “You’re Made For a God-Sized Dream“, and it was really good, too.

      ~MizB

  2. That sounds really compelling! I love the addition of new prompts!
    My Musing:
    http://library1baby.blogspot.com/2013/03/musing-mondays.html

  3. Hello. Here’s mine!

  4. This sounds like an interesting book. I might have to pick it up! I’ve often wondered about what makes us crave things.

  5. Wow, this one sounds like a book I NEED to read! lol

    Here’s MY MUSING MONDAYS POST

  6. Sounds interesting.
    Love the new addition to Musing Mondays! =)
    Here’s my Musing Mondays Post
    Megan @ Love, Literature, Art, and Reason

  7. This week I’m asking for advice on listening to audiobooks, if you usually only have one book going at once, in my musing.

  8. Craving sounds a great book. I simply can’t get enough too!

    Here are my musings for this week:

    http://a-bookworm-loose.blogspot.com/2013/03/musing-monday-march-25.html

  9. Craving sounds a great book. I simply can’t get enough too!

    Here are my musings for this week:

    http://a-bookworm-loose.blogspot.com/2013/03/musing-monday-march-25.html

  10. Kwizgiver permalink

    I’ve got to go back and edit my questions to include you’re new one (which is a good one!).

    Here’s my answer: http://www.kwizgiver.com/2013/03/musing-mondays_25.html

  11. Sounds good! I’m a little late,but here is my MM: http://books-and-coffee-now.blogspot.ro/2013/03/musing-mondays-3.html

Comments are closed.

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,547 other followers