Skip to content

Musing Mondays (Apr. 22)

April 22, 2013

MusingMondays5Musing Mondays asks you to muse about one of the following each week…

• Describe one of your reading habits.
• Tell us what book(s) you recently bought for yourself or someone else, and why you chose that/those book(s).
• What book are you currently desperate to get your hands on? Tell us about it! 
• Tell us what you’re reading right now — what you think of it, so far; why you chose it; what you are (or, aren’t) enjoying it.
• Do you have a bookish rant? Something about books or reading (or the industry) that gets your ire up? Share it with us!
• Instead of the above questions, maybe you just want to ramble on about something else pertaining to books — let’s hear it, then!


My Musing:

bookpile5aOne of my bookish habits is in regards to the library. I will go there to browse, and end up bringing a whole stack of books home… only to read maybe one of them. And, it doesn’t just have to be books that I found while browsing in the actual building — I do the same thing with their online catalogue. I will put a bunch of books on hold, go pick them up when they come in, skim them, and read only one or two. The rest sit here for a bit and then get taken back to the library. 

It’s not because I don’t want to read them. I wouldn’t bring them home if they didn’t look like something I’d be interested in. I just always tend to be more ambitious than I should. I know I’ll never get them all read within the time frame, but I can’t help myself. Of course, I’m not thinking of whether/not I can read them all in a set amount of time when I bring all of these books home. I’m only thinking, “Ooo, that sounds great! I’ve gotta read that!” LOL 

And, it’s not like I bring home twenty books. There are usually only five or so. I do know a woman who takes out twenty-ish books at a time, though… and I’m pretty sure she reads them all. She’s a much more avid reader than I am, and she can speed-read, too. 

Anyway. This is not a habit that I plan on giving up any time soon. LOL. I love the local library — I love that I have access to so many free books! Awesome, awesome, awesome. :)

PLEASE LEAVE A COMMENT with either the link to your own Musing Mondays post, or share your answer in a comment here (if you don’t have a blog). Thanks! :D

18 Comments
  1. I recently read three books and a short story that I recommend: Geri Foster’s OUT OF THE SHADOWS and OUT OF THE DARK; Anna Jeffrey’s THE TYCOON; and the short story by Jacquie Rogers, SINGLE GIRLS CAN’T JUMP. Each was good in a different way. Geri Foster’s are action adventure romantic suspense and very fast paced. These are the first two in a ten book series but can be read in any order. Anna Jeffrey’s is a good old Texas family saga, and the first of a trilogy. Jacquie Rogers’s short story is a fun, cute, time-travel spoof on stupid laws that we wonder why passed and seem never to be repealed.

  2. I do this too. I go with such good intentions to read everything I check out and fail everytime. I don’t mind it though, it’s just a really nice feeling to be surrounded by books :) Here is mine: http://literarynerdsunite.blogspot.co.uk/2013/04/musing-mondays_22.html

  3. Happy Earth Day everyone! I have habit of doing the same thing with library books. They all look so good when you pick them up but then you get home and there are a thousand things getting in the way of reading. If I’m focused, I can read two or three books a week depending on their length. I usually pick up about four or five books in a trip and sometimes I end up renewing the last book because I’m not quite done with it.

    Here is my musing –

    http://ladywithbooks.wordpress.com/2013/04/22/musing-mondays-42213/

  4. I do the same thing. As I write this I have a stack to return, and one has to go back that I didn’t get to read and really wanted to-The Fever Tree by Jennifer McVeigh.

  5. I totally do the same thing. I would grab like 10 books, thinking these look amazing. Read one, and then take the rest back. Awful habit I tell you=)

    Here is my Monday Musing

  6. ladyambrosiaj permalink

    I think that is a perfectly GOOD habit to have :)

    Here is my musing:

    http://icewarmth.com/musing-monday-42213/

  7. That sounds like what I would do when I had access to a library. The woman you mentioned sounds like a childhood friend of mine; she would bring home an amazing amount of books (many of them much too adult!) and read every single one. I think she is still the most voracious reader I have ever known.

    Here’s my Musing: http://shouldbereading.wordpress.com/2013/04/22/musing-mondays-apr-22/

  8. Kwizgiver permalink

    I used to do that. Then I transitioned to e-books and I still take them out from the library, just not as many.

    Here’s my link: http://www.kwizgiver.com/2013/04/musing-mondays_22.html

  9. Me too! What’s worse is that I often don’t return my stack of books on time either, which results in overdue fines. My husband and I have become great patrons of the library, in more ways than one. :-)

    My Musings Meme this week is the second post on a book about what media teaches about diversity. I talk about stereotypes and issue a challenge: http://allisonsbookbag.wordpress.com/2013/04/22/musings-meme-stereotypes-and-a-multimedia-challenge/

  10. This week I’m talking about when we find time to blog in my musing :)

Comments are closed.

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,889 other followers