Skip to content

Musing Mondays (Apr.29)

April 29, 2013

MusingMondays5Musing Mondays asks you to muse about one of the following each week…

• Describe one of your reading habits.
• Tell us what book(s) you recently bought for yourself or someone else, and why you chose that/those book(s).
• What book are you currently desperate to get your hands on? Tell us about it! 
• Tell us what you’re reading right now — what you think of it, so far; why you chose it; what you are (or, aren’t) enjoying it.
• Do you have a bookish rant? Something about books or reading (or the industry) that gets your ire up? Share it with us!
• Instead of the above questions, maybe you just want to ramble on about something else pertaining to books — let’s hear it, then!


My Musing:

Something that has always bugged me about books and the industry is the cost of childrens’ books. I go to Wal-Mart, and the childrens’ books are about $6.00 each. Yes, it costs money to produce a book. But… In my opinion, if you priced the books lower, you would sell more of them, thereby making money. But by pricing them higher, not as many people are willing to pay the money for them, and you lose out. This is just my theory.

PLEASE LEAVE A COMMENT with either the link to your own Musing Mondays post, or share your answer in a comment here (if you don’t have a blog). Thanks! :D

23 Comments
  1. I agree! Books are SO over-priced! It’s even worse here in Israel.

  2. which is why public libraries are such a great thing!

    If it is Monday, I must be Musing…

    http://caitesdayatthebeach.blogspot.com/2013/04/musing-mondayive-fallen-and-i-cant-get.html

  3. I agree books are overpriced and its an issue here in Canada where a book that cost about 15 in the States can cost close to 20 in Canada. But like Caite said above me that is why its a great thing that we have libraries. But then you run into issues like access because a library may not have a book that you wish to obtain and it may take awhile for a book to arrive before you actually get into your hands.

    • Yep, I’m in Canada. I know.

      And, yes, I love my local library. I’d be lost without it. But still…

  4. ladyambrosiaj permalink

    I agree with you fully as well. I very rarely buy new books anymore because of some of the prices. I will wait until they come up for swap, I can get them used or I get them at an end of run discount store. Might be cheap of me but many of the books I want to read these days are 25-30 new and I do not keep most of them.

    My Muse:

    http://icewarmth.com/musing-42913/

  5. Actually, it’s not just about children’s books… the price tag of any book was also the reason why I didn’t develop the book reading habit (as libraries here in the Philippines mostly stock up on text books for schools and often times they don’t allow people to take it home). Coming from a poor family, my parents didn’t really encouraged us to read books apart from the ones used at school, and my allowance wasn’t enough to buy one, so it is just now that I am training myself to read books. Thankfully, there are quite a lot of shops selling second-hand books, so little by little, I am starting to get the habit of reading books.

    My muse this week – http://slenderellajenn.blogspot.com/2013/04/ten-books-in-one-month.html

  6. I think all books are overpriced and I generally shop in second hand bookstores. But then I wonder if by doing that I’m not supporting the book industry. Bit of a conundrum.
    Here is mine: http://literarynerdsunite.blogspot.co.uk/2013/04/musing-mondays_29.html

  7. I agree, books can get a bit expensive – you’ve got to seek out the bargains!
    Here’s my musing: http://danielleheartsbooks.blogspot.com.au/2013/04/musing-mondays-22.html

    • Oh, I’m definitely a bargain hunter when it comes to books. ;)

  8. Basically I agree with you – books could be cheaper. Luckily there are libraries, and also second-hand bookshops. And nowadays also e-books which are sometimes cheaper.

    http://dawntreader-island2.blogspot.se/2013/04/book-review-dodger-by-terry-pratchett.html

  9. Hello! This is my my musing monday post :D drop by?

    http://homeofabooklover.blogspot.com/2013/04/musing-mondays-02.html

  10. Frustrating….thanks for sharing. Here’s MY MUSING MONDAYS POST

  11. Books are overpriced. Paying over $20 for a new release book is just not happening when you are on a budget. One book is half my food budget for the week. As it is, I can only afford to buy books when I get a windfall, like holiday or birthday money. My tax return is being used to buy car insurance. It’s why I mostly use the library. And let’s not get started on ebook pricing. That rant can go for hours with me.

    My musing can be found –

    http://ladywithbooks.wordpress.com/2013/04/29/musing-mondays-42913/

  12. I don’t think I’ve bought an actual paper book since February. I have found that I can find them alot cheaper if I buy it for my Kindle… Even my daughter has more books on her kindle than on her shelf now… Really sad=(

    Bethany @ Bythebookful

  13. Kwizgiver permalink

    I like borrowing e-books from the library, too. Especially for books I don’t necessarily want/need to keep.

    Here’s my answer: http://www.kwizgiver.com/2013/04/musing-mondays_29.html

  14. My son ate-literally ATE- two copies of Goodnight Moon and one of Moo, Baa, Lalala. Those board books are too expensive to be chew toys.

  15. I agree that children’s books are overpriced, I find the Goodwill is the best places to pick up kid’s books. Most are like new and cost $1. Here is my Musing Monday post.

    http://georgielee.blogspot.com/2013/04/musing-monday.html

  16. It’s just a suspicion, but I kind of think they are pricing paper books out of the market to encourage ebook sales. They cost way less to make and distribute, you can’t loan them out or sell them used, and they can (theoretically) take the book away in an instant if they decide they don’t want you to have it; for them it’s a win-win.

    Anyway, here’s mine: http://fairyrevel.com/2013/04/29/musing-monday-paris/

  17. You know for children’s books I quite agree with you. I mean if adult books are pricey we can try to make ourselves understand (which, I agree is sometimes of little help :P) or wait, but kids do not go by logic, so it really becomes messy at times…
    btw…here’s my MM: http://bookeatereviews.blogspot.com/2013/04/musing-mondays-2.html

  18. Every time the publisher releases a new edition (at least for trade paper) the price goes up by a dollar. I want to support local bookstores and the industry, but for someone who reads so much the money spent on buying new books is just getting ridiculously staggering. Anyway this is my rant, but I also talk about other things in my MM post. Happy Monday!

  19. I guess I’m in the minority in that I kind of expect to spend $10-20 for a new hardcover edition of a children’s book. Of course, I also love to collect used books at library sales, where they sell for about $1!

    Here’s my Current Read: http://allisonsbookbag.wordpress.com/2013/04/29/musings-meme-current-reads-4/

Comments are closed.

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,888 other followers