Skip to content

Musing Mondays (May 6)

May 6, 2013

MusingMondays5Musing Mondays asks you to muse about one of the following each week…

• Describe one of your reading habits.
• Tell us what book(s) you recently bought for yourself or someone else, and why you chose that/those book(s).
• What book are you currently desperate to get your hands on? Tell us about it! 
• Tell us what you’re reading right now — what you think of it, so far; why you chose it; what you are (or, aren’t) enjoying it.
• Do you have a bookish rant? Something about books or reading (or the industry) that gets your ire up? Share it with us!
• Instead of the above questions, maybe you just want to ramble on about something else pertaining to books — let’s hear it, then!


My Musing:

I have never been one to get into book “fads”… people will rave and rave about particular books, and I don’t usually cave and have to read the book out myself. Sometimes I will have already read the book(s) before they were “popular” — like with Dan Brown’s Robert Langdon series (The Da Vinci Code, anyone?), or Stephanie Meyer’s “Twilight” saga. Other times, if the book being raved about sounds appealing, I’ll put it on my to-be-read list. But, I have a huge, long list of these books that I still haven’t gotten around to reading! It’s almost embarrassing how long it is, actually.

I find it funny… I call myself an avid reader, as I read about 80 books per year. But, when asked if I’ve read this or that (popular) book, I’ll say no, and people will be shocked! “But you read 80 books a year! How can you not have read this?!“, will be the query, as if in order to be an ‘avid’ reader I’ve got to read all of the “raved about” and “now” books. What’s up with that? Apparently, my tastes are just different from the mainstream. LOL.

I will eventually get around to some of these. But I will probably never read them all. And I’m okay with that, even if it’s shocking to others. ;)

PLEASE LEAVE A COMMENT with either the link to your own Musing Mondays post, or share your musing in a comment here (if you don’t have a blog). Thanks! :D

21 Comments
  1. I don’t like to follow the book fads either. People are shocked when I tell them… I have never read Harry Potter for example. BUT… I must admit some book fads I do fall victim to… I have read one or two of the Twilight series, I’ve read two of the Fifty Shades of Grey books… but… just because it is ‘the’ book of the moment, doesn’t guarantee that I will read it. If it doesn’t appeal to me, it just doesn’t appeal.

    I am going to start reading Mother’s Curse and can’t wait to get into it but it brings to mind a type of discrimination that is alive and well today… here is the link to my Musing Monday!
    http://growinguplittle.wordpress.com/2013/05/06/1347/

  2. No, I am not a book fad reader either..I have never read Twilight or Dan Brown’s book. Ok, I actually read a bit of Da Vinci Code and though it was so ridiculous and so bad written..no, I did not finish it.

    Now, on to another subject My Muse, Con Te Partirò”, is up.

  3. I am exactly the same. Mostly I will add books to my TBR list on Goodreads if I think they sound interesting, but it is very rarely I actually get round to them. There are a few exceptions such as Twilight and 50 Shades series, but mostly I read them if I’ve heard conflicting thoughts so as to make up my own mind, rather than judging them through someone else.

  4. I love your weekly posts. Here is a link to my musing mondays. great way to start the work week!
    http://cynthia2729.wordpress.com/2013/05/06/musing-mondays-may-6/

  5. I usually wait until some of my favorite blog book reviewers mention the popular or fad books before I pick them up. So I guess I’d call myself a middle of the pack person.

    Here’s my Musing: http://www.kwizgiver.com/2013/05/musing-mondays.html

  6. Today I’m thinking about whether we write the same sorts of blogs we read in my musing :)

  7. hehe I always want to read the new books but I have so little time reading so I’m having a hard time that means I’m being left behind while others were able to read it already,, too bad for me..

    here’s my musing Camelle @ Home of a Book Lover

  8. I’m always with dystopia but sometimes it differs from time to time. Check out mine here: http://bibliophilekid.blogspot.com/2013/05/musing-mondays-2.html

  9. That is funny. I get a bit rebellious about book fads as well. I will get to the book when I get to it dang it! And I usually want to wait till the hoopla dies so that I can forget I am going in with super high expectations, usually ruins it for me. :)

  10. I’m almost disappointed when I find a series before anyone else does and love it…. then it becomes so popular it diminishes my excitement=)

    Bethany @ Bythebookful

  11. I used to be all over book fads because I’m easily swayed but now not so much. They are usually disappointing. Here’s mine: http://literarynerdsunite.blogspot.co.uk/2013/05/musing-mondays.html

  12. A bit of a rant to kick off the week. My full answer is posted on the blog.

  13. I tend to avoid book fads too. Most of the world was hooked onto Harry Potter, before I broke down and gave them a try. Same goes for The Unfortunate Events. I did read a couple Twilight books, but only because a new friend practically pushed them into my hands. And yet I have to admit: I’m anxious to read The Fault of Our Stars. Surely, a book getting this much attention is going to be something special. So, while I don’t immediately jump on the bandwagon, sometimes the hype does attract me. And perhaps with good reason. I loved Harry Potter and The Unfortunate Events. :-)

  14. As for my musings, Atlantic Wire published an interesting diagnostic guide to reader types. I had fun analyzing myself in my meme. You might too! Here’s the link: http://allisonsbookbag.wordpress.com/2013/05/06/musings-meme-what-type-of-reader-are-you/

  15. I’m right there with you on the popular books! I’ll probably never be interested some and won’t get to read all the ones I am interested in.

    Here’s my musing for this week! http://amongstories.wordpress.com/2013/05/06/mm-may-6/

  16. I’m new to Musings, but yeah, I do have an opinion or two about today’s trend. :)

Comments are closed.

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,741 other followers