Skip to content

The Sunday Salon (June 2)

June 2, 2013

sundaysalon3Another month, already. I can’t believe how fast this year seems to be going by.

I have spent the last few days reading. I’m busy researching for my new business, so I have a stack of books out from the local library. And, I’ve been making lots of notes!

I also have finished up with two books, in the past month: “Orphan Train” by Christina Baker Klein, and “Sweet Mercy” by Ann Tatlock.

I’m now moving on to “Pure Pleasure” by Gary Thomas. Here’s the book’s description, courtesy of GoodReads.com:

ThomasGary_PurePleasureDiscover the power of guilt-free pleasure.

Pleasure is a good thing. It’s a powerful force that feeds your relationships, helps protect your spiritual integrity, and brings delight to our heavenly Father. Pleasure isn’t something Christians should fear, shun, or disparage; it’s something we should learn to cultivate in our lives.

Acclaimed spiritual growth author Gary Thomas will guide you into this way of life, which is foundational to a healthy relationship with God, with your loved ones, and with the world. He’ll show you that, for the redeemed, pleasure can be a powerful and holy force for good, leading to increased worship, spiritual strength, and renewed relationships.

In this invigorating and liberating book, Gary Thomas will energize, inspire, equip, and challenge you to experience life as God meant it to be: overflowing with pleasure.

So far, this is a really good book. I am enjoying it!

Next up will be “Emotional Vampires at Work” by Albert J. Bernstein, which is a review book for NetGalley.

In other news, I am sooooo excited! My favorite band — Otic Poets — will be releasing their EP, ♫ “Frontiers” ♫ , this coming Tuesday! I’ve only heard their debut single, “My Let Down“, so far, so I’m really looking forward to hearing the rest of the songs!

Frontiers_OP

Also exciting is that the band asked for my help in finding them a venue for their summer concert! I am actually hoping to host them, myself — I am just waiting to hear back from some people on the details. But man, it’s awesome to set something up for them! I am completely honored! :D

This week is going to be busy, as I’ll be attending some small business workshops to learn more about marketing, recordkeeping, etc. for my new business venture. I look forward to getting some answers to some of the questions I’ve had, too. There is a lot to think about in starting up a business!

Anyway. That’s about it for me, this week! Happy reading, folks!

5 Comments
  1. readerbuzz permalink

    Good luck with your new venture!

    http://www.readerbuzz.blogspot.com

  2. Read Orphan Train and loved it! I look forward to your review for the book you are reading now, Pure Pleasure!

  3. Great luck with your new opportunity! How exciting!! Great Sunday Salon too – and I totally agree about the year, it seems to be super flying by! I just looked at my calender today and realized I hadn’t even moved to May yet and it’s already June – so wow!! Hope you had a great weekend! Here’s my Sunday Salon!
    http://bookgirlfromsouthcarolina.wordpress.com/wp-admin/post.php?post=743&action=edit&message=6&postpost=v2

Comments are closed.

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,549 other followers

