Skip to content

The Sunday Salon (July 28)

July 28, 2013

sundaysalon3This past week has been a bit more balanced. I finished reading “The Start-Up of You” by Reid Hoffmann & Ben Casnocha on Monday (excellent book), and then spent the majority of the rest of the week working on my business stuff (honestly, I couldn’t figure out what I wanted to read next! LOL).

Then, on Friday, I purchased an eBook — one all about the industry I’m planning to go into — and I’ve been reading that via my Kindle app on my iPod for the last few days. It’s an excellent book, too… I’m not wanting to put it down! (it’s even keeping me up late at night!) Sorry, though: can’t yet tell you what the book is. ;)

So, things are coming along.

brandingOne thing I’m really frustrated by is naming & branding my business. I stressed for weeks about what to name my business, and then finally came up with a name I liked that didn’t already have a domain that was taken by someone else. A relief! But, after having been happy with that name for a while, now I’m not so sure. I haven’t purchased my domain or my business license yet, so it’s okay to change my mind. But, still… do I really want to? Part of me says ‘yes’. I don’t like the branding options I have with it.

And that’s another thing… branding is NOT easy! I have some ideas, but I am not sure of a lot of other things in regards to this. It’s extremely frustrating.

I’d seek out help, but because I’m currently unemployed — and just had to get one of our two vehicles repaired — I just don’t have the money to hire anyone. :(

Of course, the workshops I’ll be attending in the next couple of months will help with this, I’m sure (or, at least, I desperately hope so!). At the very least, I’ll get to meet with a graphic designer, if all goes well, and he/she will help me with my business cards and website design. But still… that’s a ways off, yet.

Hubby says not to focus on that, for now; that I have more important things to be worrying about (eg. target market, competition, etc). And this is true. But I am focusing on those things, too! It’s just that I’m a creative… so I’m drawn to want to get the branding part “fixed” now. Once that’s settled, I will feel like I can “move on” to the rest of it. ((sigh))

I know it’ll all work out in the end. It’s just maddening that I’m not there yet. Guess I’m still needing to work on my patience, eh? :P

poolsideAnyway. This coming week, my kids and I will be going to visit my Dad for a few days. We’ll get to hang out by the pool, and I’ll get to spend some time with my brother (who is also visiting my Dad). I haven’t seen my bro in about a year-and-a-half, so it’ll be good to spend some time with him, again. I’m looking forward to it!

Then August is when all of my “crazy” starts… workshops, back-to-school for the kids, three family weddings, and a deadline fast approaching for having my business plan completed! I can’t wait to get my business started, though, in all honesty. I’m very anxious to see how it’s all going to turn out!

Oh, and one last side note… God was faithful and provided a way for us to get my husband’s car fixed, while still leaving enough money to get my own car fixed, too, and be able to have the investment needed for my business! Go, God! :D (that’s not to say that my car is fixed, yet, mind you… but it will be, soon!)

Happy Reading, everyone!

8 Comments
  1. Securing the domain name is so easy and inexpensive, I’d do it just for peace of mind. You don’t have to renew it if you decide to use something else. Good luck!

    • MizB permalink

      Thanks. And yes, I’ve been tempted to do that. I don’t want to wait, then find out at the last minute that someone else picked the same thing, and I no longer have the option. But, money’s been an issue. Much as it’s inexpensive, I just haven’t had the “extra” yet. Soon, though.

  2. Good luck with everything! Sounds like you are doing all “the right” things!

  3. Enjoy your time with your dad before the craziness of August.

  4. Brianna Soloski permalink

    Glad things seem to be working out. I can’t believe we’re already heading into August. It seems like this year just started.

Comments are closed.

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,895 other followers

