Teaser Tuesdays (Sept.27)

Teaser Tuesdays is a weekly bookish meme, hosted by MizB of Should Be Reading. Anyone can play along! Just do the following:

  • Grab your current read
  • Open to a random page
  • Share two (2) “teaser” sentences from somewhere on that page
  • BE CAREFUL NOT TO INCLUDE SPOILERS! (make sure that what you share doesn’t give too much away! You don’t want to ruin the book for others!)
  • Share the title & author, too, so that other TT participants can add the book to their TBR Lists if they like your teasers!

 
My Teasers:

“A church that functioned like the one described above would be such a societal miracle that you couldn’t keep people away if you locked the doors. And while the majority of my idealism has been beaten out of me, I still believe that such a church will be possible when we finally get tired of faking it as a church.”

~ p.27,When Bad Christians Happen to Good People” by Dave Burchett



PLEASE LEAVE A COMMENT with either the link to your own Teaser Tuesdays post, or share your ‘teasers’ in a comment here (if you don’t have a blog). Thanks!

[remember: the link for the comments is at the TOP of this post]

202 thoughts on “Teaser Tuesdays (Sept.27)

    • You might like “So You Don’t Want to Go to Church Anymore” by Wayne Jacobsen, then… it’s about that very thing. And, I really enjoyed it! It’s written in a kind of story format (instead of just nonfiction).

      ~MizB

      Like

    • Thanks (re: my blog). And, yeah, I haven’t been to a Sunday morning service in well over a year — I just hate the legalism and pressure… but I still love the Lord, and try my best to live out a Christian life. I hae my Bible study, weekly, too — that’s my “church”, and it works for me way better than Sunday morning services ever did.

      ~MizB

      Like

  1. Great teaser, I truly believe that such a church exists but unfortunately it exists for a short time because then people ruin it. I was once in what people called a wonderful friendly church but in a few short years it ceased being that way. We’re human, we make up the church, so therefore it cannot be perfect. I wish it could. I’m definitely intrigued by your book!

    My teaser is here.

    Like

  2. This book will bring far to many memories back to the forefront that have been ‘forgotten’.

    Note – The comment box is black with black writing, It is almost impossible to see MizB.

    Like

Comments are closed.