Musing Mondays (Dec.5)

 This week’s musing asks…

How many books do you read in a week? Month? Year?

I read anywhere from 3 to 10 books per month, averaging out at about 70 books per year. Some years that number is lower, some higher. But, it’s been between 50-75 books every year since 2002.

For many years, all I did was stay home ~ I was a stay-at-home mom. I didn’t have a job, and didn’t have any other activities. So, I read my books, and played on the computer. When my kids got to be school-aged, I wasn’t able to find a job for the first several years, so I still had all of that free time to myself! Hence why I was able to read so many books!

Now, though, with working full-time, I don’t have the same luxury. So, I’m reading when I can, but I think my number of books read per year is going to decline. Not necessarily this year (I’ve already read 66 books :D), but next year probably.

We shall see.

PLEASE LEAVE A COMMENT with either the link to your own Musing Mondays post, or share your answer in a comment here (if you don’t have a blog). Thanks! 😀

62 thoughts on “Musing Mondays (Dec.5)

  1. Oh, I love this! I used to work … I had a job that was busy and stressful and then one day my husband told me to quit, so I did. Now I have all the time in the world to read! Of course, I wonder how I managed to hold a full-time job and still get stuff done around the acreage–it seems I don’t have as much time as I thought I would have! 🙂

    Good job, though, for working full-time and still reading that much. I once read that the average person read something like 4 books a year. That’s just sad!

    Happy Monday!

    Like

    • That is sad, but when you consider a lot of people spend time in their cars to and from work and then doing various things around their communities, you can probably understand why people only get about 4 books read during the year and most of those are probably read during the Christmas season and whenever they go on vacation.

      Like

    • I agree… that’s VERY sad!

      Nice of your hubby to let you quit! Some days I wish I could, too… but, now I’m letting my job pay for the laptop I’m saving up for, so I’ve found a bright spot. 😉

      Like

  2. I completely understand why you won’t be reading as many books. When I had a young family, I couldn’t read nearly as much as now. Actually, I became a member of the Reader’s Digest Condensed Books Club way back then, so I would have something around the house to read when I had a few spare minutes. I still love those books and look at yard sales, and library sales for them.

    My answer is here: http://annsreadingcorner.blogspot.com

    Like

    • Oh, how I know that fear!!! I just started working full-time this past year, and so far, things are okay… but not like they used to be. I’m finding myself with not NEAR enough time to read, and that’s scaring me to death! If I don’t read, who the heck am I??? 😦

      ~MizB

      Like

  3. Before work and school, I was popping out 40 books per year. Now that I work and go to school, that has been cut in half. I only got 21 books this year. It will probably be even less because next term I will be doing lab hours at the child care center on campus. I will definitely try to get in reading time.

    Like

Comments are closed.