Musing Mondays (Sept.3)

This week’s musing –courtesy of http://bookshelf.shotgunopera.net— asks…

Have you ever considered writing a book before? What genre would you write?

 

My answer:

I actually have, many times, considered writing books. In fact, that’s why I chose this question, this week, as writing is again on my mind.

I have participated in NaNoWriMo, and have written most of the first draft of a novel (50,911 words, to be exact!). It’s an inspirational romance about a girl struggling to find herself and trying to make a choice either for, or against, faith.

I also have –more so– considered writing nonfiction. It’s what I read a lot of, and they say ‘write what you know’ (or, ‘write what you love’). I have ideas for a weight loss book, and a Christian book about things I’ve learned.

So, yeah — I’d write in the inspirational romance, or self-help, or Christian living genres.

Why don’t I go ahead and write the books, though? Because I’m scared. I don’t want to be rejected… but I also don’t want book tours, or the pressure to write a follow-up book, or some editor telling me that I have to change what I wrote because it doesn’t align with their vision, etc. All silly, I know. But, that’s what keeps me from it.

PLEASE LEAVE A COMMENT with either the link to your own Musing Mondays post, or share your answer in a comment here (if you don’t have a blog). Thanks! πŸ˜€

29 thoughts on “Musing Mondays (Sept.3)

  1. I didn’t post a response on my blog, so I’ll just put my comments/advice here.
    Rather than think about all the “what-ifs” that can happen, just go ahead and finish your NaNoWriMo book! After all, why not give it a shot? Once it’s done and you’re satisfied with it, you can tackle the other situations as they arise. If traditional publishers aren’t willing to publish your book, you might decide to self-publish. Or you might find a publisher that is willing to take on a first-time author and work with you. If you don’t try, you’ll always wonder if your book(s) would have been successful, and you’ll never know unless you go for it.
    http://iousex.blogspot.com

    Like

Comments are closed.