Teaser Tuesdays (Jan. 14)

Teaser Tuesdays is a weekly bookish meme, hosted by MizB of Should Be Reading. Anyone can play along! Just do the following:

• Grab your current read
• Open to a random page
• Share two (2) “teaser” sentences from somewhere on that page
• BE CAREFUL NOT TO INCLUDE SPOILERS! (make sure that what you share doesn’t give too much away! You don’t want to ruin the book for others!)
• Share the title & author, too, so that other TT participants can add the book to their TBR Lists if they like your teasers!

RichardsonRyan_SavingFacebookMy Teasers:

“Every time I speak to a group of students, I tell them that if just one can give me a good reason why they need to have their tablet or smartphone at 3 in the morning, I will include that reason in our workshops. I am still waiting for that reason.”

~ p.97, “Saving Face (Book)” by  Ryan Richardson


PLEASE LEAVE A COMMENT with either the link to your own Teaser Tuesdays post, or share your ‘teasers’ in a comment here (if you don’t have a blog). Thanks! :D

{The link for the comments is at the BOTTOM of this post.}

108 thoughts on “Teaser Tuesdays (Jan. 14)

      • Thanks for playing along!

        Some have made their own, yes. You’re welcome to make your own pic, but just please make sure to link back to me as the event host/creator. That’s all I ask. 🙂

        Much appreciated!

        Like

  1. How ABSOLUTELY true! Oh, for the days when we didn’t always have to be constantly connected – when our jobs didn’t somehow expect us to provide our personal cell phone number to use for business needs (which I won’t do, anyway – I tell them that if they need to be in touch with me via cell, they’ll have to provide the phone and pay for the service themselves) 😉 Love the teaser! My teaser is on “Tell Me a Riddle, Requa I, and Other Works” by Tillie Olsen: http://www.knittingandsundries.com/2014/01/teaser-tuesdays-tell-me-riddle-requa-i.html

    Like

    • Yep… I’ve tried to refuse to give out my cell phone number at work, as I just don’t feel the need to constantly be on the thing. My husband frequently gets upset at me for not checking my phone when I’m out. But I keep trying to tell him, I only have the thing for emergencies… not so that I can be reached 24/7! I just don’t believe in being constantly available. Sorry.

      Like

  2. Hi MizB,

    There is no reaon I can logically think of as to why anyone should need to be using, or indeed sleeping, with their tablet or mobile.

    The incessant need to text 24/7 is also totally inexplicable to me, do I lead such a boring life that I don’t have anything to say, or do these people lead the boring lives and have to spice it up a little by constantly letting the whole world know when they take another breath!

    Working in retail, I long for the time when perhaps I am leaving a position, to be able to refuse to serve someone who approaches the till on their phone and continues with the call during the entire sales transaction, treating me as if I just weren’t visibly there!

    Here is my post for the week, not an electronic device in sight here …

    http://www.fiction-books.biz/weekly-memes/teaser-tuesdays/zaremba-or-love-and-the-rule-of-law-by-michelle-granas-2/

    Thanks for hosting and have a good week,

    Yvonne

    Like

    • Oh, Yvonne, I soooo wholeheartedly agree with you! I used to work at a Staples Business Depot as a cashier, and it was the utmost of rudeness when a customer would be on their phone the whole time I was ringing their purchases through. They wouldn’t even say “Hold on a sec” to the person they were talking to when I had to give them their total… they just kept on talking! And I felt like I had to be quiet since they were on the phone, and I didn’t want to be rude (ha!) by interrupting them! Just the manners I was taught!

      So, yeah… If I could’ve spoken my mind, or reserved the right to not serve them until they gave me the proper respect due, I would’ve. 😉

      Like

  3. I don’t know about anyone else, but for me a tablet is handy for taking down story ideas that wake me in the middle of the night. Doesn’t happen often, but I’m always major bummed if I don’t get it right then.

    Mine is up

    Like

  4. Wish I didn’t need mine at 3 a.m., but with three kids aged 21-17, I’ve had more than my share of calls or texts in the middle of the night. Sometimes they actually needed me, sometimes they didn’t. Here’s Mine

    Like

Comments are closed.