REVIEW: The Daniel Plan by Rick Warren

The Daniel Plan: 40 Days to a Healthier Life by Rick Warren

(Including insights from Dr. Daniel Amen, Dr. Mehmet Oz, and Dr. Mark Hyman)

Faith, Food, Fitness, Focus, and Friends are the plan of this book. I loved the majority of what was written here, except for the recommendation to cut out all sugar.

Otherwise, the book talks about how to eat according to your hunger signals (of which I’m a big fan), and about how to put God first in your journey towards health. It then goes on to talk about how to incorporate fitness, renew your focus, and find support for your new, healthy lifestyle.

There are several recipes included in the back of the book, but you can also get The Daniel Plan Cookbook, if you want more.

I enjoyed this book.

 

2 thoughts on “REVIEW: The Daniel Plan by Rick Warren

  1. Sounds like a book worth checking out! I use the LIvestrong site- http://www.livestrong.com/ and it helps, but I try to only do it duing the week and try and just behave on the weekends. The Livestrong site has a page called My Plate/Tracker. It helps me because I went Vegetarian 3 years ago and I track not just my calories but I watch my protein and fiber too just to make sure I’m OK. But do your research on how much the tracker says is the right amount vs. what you might find out with research. I think it’s goal for protein is too high and it’s ridiculous how little sugar it allows- I also don’t think being that low is needful and I have a sugar sensitivity and limit more than most! Also check out Chocolate Covered Katie for awesome semi-healthy baked sweets- http://chocolatecoveredkatie.com/. Have a good weekend.

    Like

  2. Hm. I can see why you’d struggle with the call to cut out ALL sugar. Without a doubt, sugar is at the bottom of a lot of issues regarding health, both physical and mental. But I think that something like this should be viewed as a long-term project, where you can set yourself targets not to snack on anything sugary for 5/7 days a week, for two weeks, for example. But cutting all sugar out is savage for many people, who like the comfort of sweets and chocolate and, in my opinion, setting people up to fail unless there is a very encouraging step-by-step supportive plan on how to wean yourself off sugar, first. Glad you’re enjoying the book and take care.

    Like

Comments are closed.